HUD Logo
USA%20Flag  
Site Map         A-Z Index         Text   A   A   A

List of Current Empowerment Zones and Updated Contact Information

In line with IRS Notice 2013-38, the Empowerment Zones (EZ) were directed to contact the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) by July 29, 2013 if they did not want to accept the EZ designation extension. The list provided in the table below includes the EZs that have elected to accept the EZ designation extension provided through § 327(c) of the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012, Pub. L. 112-240, 126 Stat. 2313 (January 2, 2013) (ATRA).

Under this extension, businesses in these EZ communities have the opportunity to utilize the available EZ tax incentives until December 31, 2013 and for more information about each tax incentive please refer to the updated EZ Tax Incentives Summary Chart. Included in the table below is the updated contact information for each zone. If this contact information is incorrect or incomplete, please send an email to OCRTaxCredit@hud.gov summarizing the revisions that need to be made.

EZ Community Contact Information
Baltimore MD Rachel Edds 410-783-4400 redds@mail.ebmc.org
Boston  MA Sheila Dillon 617-635-4352 sdillon.dnd@cityofboston.gov
Chicago IL Brad McConnell 312-744-9143 brad.mcconnell@cityofchicago.org
Cincinnati OH Eric Denson 513-352-4981 eric.denson@cincinnati-oh.gov
Cleveland OH Steve Martinek 216-664-4503 smartinek@city.cleveland.oh.us
Columbia/Sumter SC Felicia Maloney 803-255-8129 fmmaloney@columbiasc.net
Columbus OH John Beard 614-251-0926 jbeard@colscompact.com
Cumberland County NJ Jeannine MacDonald 856-696-5660 jeanninec@cezcorp.org
Detroit  MI Brian Watkins 313-224-9973 bwatkins@detroitmi.gov
El Paso TX Isela Robinson 915-541-4629 robisonie@elpasotexas.gov
Fresno  CA Kelly Trevino 559-621-8426 kelly.trevino@fresno.gov
Gary/Hammond/East Chicago IN Scott Upshaw 219-886-9047 scott.upshaw@gechezone.org
Huntington/Ironton WV/OH Cathy Burns 304-781-1678 cburns@rcbi.org
Jacksonville FL Joseph Whitaker 904-630-1624 josephw@coj.net
Knoxville TN Mark Rigsby 865-215-2235 mrigsby@cityofknoxville.org
Los Angeles CA Robert Sainz 213-744-7396 Robert.Sainz@lacity.org
Miami/Dade County FL Lori Weldon 305-375-3623 loriw@miamidade.gov
Minneapolis MN Jeff Schneider 612-673-5124 Jeffrey.Schneider@minneapolismn.gov
New Haven CT Heather Rosenberg 203-946-5889 HRosenb@newhavenct.net
New York NY Marion Phillips 212-803-3240 mphillips@esd.ny.gov
Norfolk/Portsmouth VA Meisha Holmes 757-664-4186 meisha.holmes@norfolk.gov
Oklahoma City OK Steven Rhodes 405-297-2009 steve.rhodes@okc.gov
Philadelphia/Camden PA/NJ Aiisha Herring-Miller 215-683-2152 aiisha.g.herring@phila.gov
Pulaski County AR Sharon Priest 501-375-0121 spriest@downtownlr.com
San Antonio TX Ruben Davila 210-207-8080 ruben.davila@sanantonio.gov
Santa Ana CA Deborah Sanchez 714-565-2621 DSanchez@santa-ana.org
St. Louis/East St. Louis MO/IL Kevin Wilson 314-621-0816 wilsonkr@missouri.edu
Syracuse NY Carl Thomas 315-448-8471 cthomas@syrgov.net
Tucson  AZ      
Yonkers NY Mary Alice Brady 914-377-6136 maryalice.brady@yonkersny.gov