HUD Logo
USA%20Flag  
Site Map         A-Z Index         Text   A   A   A
HUD   >   Program Offices   >   Housing   >   RAMH   >   MPS   >   Category III States
Category III States

In 31 States, HUD has agreed to accept State approval of modular housing so that manufacturers do not have to obtain a separate SEB. These States are called Category III Housing States. In Category III States, housing units or building components that are subject to State regulations for design and construction receive a State label.

Regulation Contacts for Modular and Panelized Housing

ALABAMA
Elwyn Thomas, Administrator
Manufactured Housing Commission
350 South Decatur Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
PH: (334) 242-4036 x25
FAX: (334) 240-3178
Email: elwyn.thomas@amhc.alabama.gov

ARIZONA
Debra Blake, Deputy Director
Arizona Department of Fire, Building and Life Safety
Office of Manufactured Housing
1110 West Washington, Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85007
PH: (602) 364-1003
FAX: (602) 364-1052
Email: debra.blake@dfbls.az.gov

CALIFORNIA
Cesar Ponce, Program Manager
Department of Housing and Community Development
Manufactured and Factor-Built Housing Programs
2020 W. El Camino Avenue, Suite 200
P.O. Box 31
Sacramento, CA 95833
PH: (916) 445-3338
FAX: (916) 327-4713

Email: cesar.ponce@hcd.ca.gov
 
COLORADO
Rick Hanger, Manager
Housing Technology & Standards Section
Department of Local Affairs, Division of Housing
1313 Sherman Street, #321
Denver, CO  80203-2244
PH: (303) 866-4656
FAX: (303) 866-3072
Email: rick.hanger@state.co.us

FLORIDA
Ila Jones, Manager
Codes and Standards
2555 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2100
PH: (850) 922-6091
FAX: (850) 414-8436
Email: Ila.Jones@dca.state.fl.us

 
GEORGIA
Theodore Miltiades, Director
Industrialized Buildings
Department of Community Affairs
60 Executive Park South, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30329-2231
PH: (404) 679-3118
FAX: (770) 302-9586
Email: IB@dca.ga.gov

IDAHO
Steve Keys, Deputy Administrator – Operations
State of Idaho
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower Street
Meridian, ID  83642
PH: (208) 332-8986
FAX: (208) 855-2164
Email: steve.keys@dbs.idaho.gov

ILLINOIS
Justin DeWitt, P.E., LEED AP
Chief of General Engineering
Division of Environmental Health

Illinois Department of Public Health
525 West Jefferson
Springfield, IL 62761
PH: (217) 782-5830
FAX: (217) 785-5897
Email: justin.dewitt@illinois.gov

Designee: John D. Reilly, Jr.
PH: (217) 785-3043
FAX: (217) 785-0253
Email: john.d.reilly@illinois.gov 

 
INDIANA
David L. Smith, CBO
Section Chief
Code Enforcement
Division of Fire and Building Safety
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
Office of the State Fire Marshal
302 West Washington Street, Room W246
Indianapolis, IN  46204
PH: (317) 232-1407
FAX: (317) 233-0307
Email: dsmith@dhs.in.gov

IOWA
Rich Bolten
State Fire Marshal Division
215 E. 7th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0047
PH: (515) 725-6157
FAX: (515) 725-6140
Email: bolten@dps.state.ia.us

KENTUCKY
Kevin Carlin, Technical Advisor Manager
Department of Housing, Building, and Construction

Building Codes Enforcement
Manufactured Housing Division
101 Sea Hero Rd, Suite 100
Frankfort, KY 40601
PH: (502) 573-1795 x425
FAX: (502) 573-1059
Email: kevin.carlin@ky.gov

MARYLAND
Ujjval K. Dave, P.E.
Maryland Codes Administration
Department of Housing & Community Development
100 Community Place
Crownsville, MD 21032-2023
PH: (410) 514-7218
FAX: (410) 987-8902
Email: dave@mdhousing.org

MICHIGAN
Irvin J. Poke, AIA, Director
Bureau of Construction Codes
P. O. Box 30254
Lansing MI 48909
PH: (517) 241-9302
FAX: (517) 241-9570
Email: pokei@michigan.gov

MINNESOTA
Randy Vogt, Supervisor

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155-4198
PH: (651) 284-5875
FAX: (651) 284-5749
Email: randy.vogt@state.mn.us

MONTANA
David Cook, Bureau Chief
Building Codes Bureau
Department of Labor and Industry
State of Montana
301 South Park Avenue
Helena, MT 59620
PH: 406-841-2053
FAX: 406-841-2050
Email: dcook@mt.gov

NEBRASKA
Mark Luttich, Director
Housing and Recreational Vehicle Department
Nebraska Public Service Commission
1200 "N" Street, 300 The Atrium
Lincoln, NE 68508

Mailing Address
P. O. Box 94927
Lincoln, NE 68509-4927
PH: (402) 471-0518
FAX: (402) 471-7709
E-mail: mark.luttich@nebraska.gov

NEVADA
Chris Flannery
Department of Business and Industry
Manufactured Housing Division

2501 E. Sahara Avenue, #204
Las Vegas, NV 89104
PH: (702) 486-4138
FAX: (702) 486-4309
Email:cflannery@mhd.state.nv.us

Alternate
Jim deProsse, Administrator
Department of Business and Industry
Manufactured Housing Division
1830 College Parkway, Suite 120
Carson City, NV 89706
PH: (775) 684-2950
FAX: (775) 684-2949

E-mail: jdeprosse@mhd.state.nv.us
 

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Matthew Labonte
Supervisor - Bureau of Building Safety and Construction
Office of the State Fire Marshal's
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
PH: (603) 223-4289
FAX: (603) 223-4294
Email: matthew.labonte@dos.nh.gov

NEW JERSEY
Michael Baier, Chief
Bureau of Code Services
Division of Codes & Standards
Department of Community Affairs
101 South Broad Street
P.O. Box 816
Trenton, NJ 08625-0816
PH: (609) 984-7974
FAX: (609) 984-7084
Email: mbaier@dca.state.nj.us

NEW MEXICO
Loretta Vialpando
Construction Industries
Manufactured Housing
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
PH: (505) 476-4691
FAX: (505) 476-4685
Email: loretta.vialpando@state.nm.us

NEW YORK
Brian Scot Tollisen, P.E.
Assistant Director for Regional Services
Building Standards and Codes Division
NYS Department of State
One Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, Suite 1160
Albany, NY 12231-0001
PH: (518) 474-4073
FAX: (518) 486-4487
Email: brian.tollisen@dos.state.ny.us

NORTH CAROLINA
Alan D. Greene, P.E.
Chief Building Code Consultant
Manufactured Building Division
Office of the State Fire Marshal
North Carolina Department of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
PH: (919) 661-5880 ext 250
FAX: (919) 662-4405
Email: alan.greene@ncdoi.gov

OREGON
Shane Sumption, Manager, Field Services Section
Department of Consumer & Business Services
Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater Street NW
Salem, OR 97309

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 14470
Salem, OR 97309
PH: (503) 378-2015
FAX: (503) 378-4101
Email: shane.r.sumption@state.or.us


PENNSYLVANIA
Mark Conte, Director
Factory Housing and Building Standards
PA Department of Community and Economic
Development
400 North Street, 4th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0225
PH: (717) 720-7416
FAX: (717) 783-4663
Email: mconte@state.pa.us or housingstandards@pa.gov

RHODE ISLAND
John Leyden, Building Commissioner
State of Rhode Island Building Code Commission
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5859
PH: (401) 222-3529
FAX: (401) 222-2599
Email: john.leyden@.doa.state.ri.us

SOUTH CAROLINA
Douglas Green, Modular Building Program
South Carolina Department of Labor,
Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
PH: (803) 896-4688
FAX: (803) 896-4614
Email: GREEND@llr.sc.gov

TENNESSEE
Mike Bartlett, FCS III
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Tennessee State Fire Marshal's Office
Tennessee Modular Building Program
500 James Robertson Parkway
Third Floor, Davy Crockett Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-1162
PH: (615) 741-7190
Voice Mail: (615) 532-5855
FAX: (615) 253-3267
Email: Mike.Bartlett@tn.gov

TEXAS
Donna Lipke, Engineering Specialist
Manager Industrialized Housing and Buildings Program
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations
P. O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711
PH: (512) 539-5735
FAX: (512) 539-5736
Email: donna.lipke@license.state.tx.us

VIRGINIA
Cindy Davis, State Building Codes Director
Division of Building and Fire Regulation
VA Department of Housing and Community Development
Main Street Centre
600 East Main Street, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23219
PH: (804) 371-7150
FAX: (804) 371-7092
Email: cindy.davis@dhcd.virginia.gov

WASHINGTON
John Harvey, Plan Review Supervisor
State of Washington
Department of Labor and Industries
Specialty Compliance Services Division
Factory Assembled Structures Section
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA 98501-4430

Mailing Address
P. O. Box 44430
Olympia, WA 98504-4430
PH: (360) 902-5218
FAX: (360) 902-5229
Email: hajo235@lni.wa.gov

WISCONSIN
Jamie Adams
Records Management Supervisor
Division of Professional Credential Processing
Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 E Washington Ave
Madison, WI 53703
PH: (608) 266-1941
FAX: (608) 251-3036
Email: jamie2.adams@wisconsin.gov