HUD Logo
USA%20Flag  
Site Map         A-Z Index         Text   A   A   A
HUD   >   Program Offices   >   Housing   >   RAMH   >   MPS   >   Category III States
Category III States

In 31 States, HUD has agreed to accept State approval of modular housing so that manufacturers do not have to obtain a separate SEB. These States are called Category III Housing States. In Category III States, housing units or building components that are subject to State regulations for design and construction receive a State label.

Regulation Contacts for Modular and Panelized Housing

ALABAMA
Elwyn Thomas, Administrator
Manufactured Housing Commission
350 South Decatur Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
PH: (334) 242-4036 x25
FAX: (334) 240-3178
Email: elwyn.thomas@amhc.alabama.gov

ARIZONA
Debra Blake, Assistant Deputy Director
Arizona Department of Housing
Office of Manufactured Housing
1110 West Washington, Suite 280
Phoenix, AZ 85007
PH: (602) 771-1000
FAX: (602) 771-1052
Email: debra.blake@azhousing.gov

CALIFORNIA
John J. Westfall, District Representative II
Department of Housing and Community Development
Manufactured and Factory-built Housing Programs
2020 W. El Camino Avenue, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA  95833

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 31
Sacramento, CA  95812-0031

PH: 916-445-3338
FAX: 916-263-4713
Email: john.westfall@hcd.ca.gov

Designee: Mitchel Baker, District Representative II
Email: mitchel.baker@hcd.ca.gov

COLORADO
Rick Hanger, Manager
Housing Technology & Standards Section
Department of Local Affairs, Division of Housing
1313 Sherman Street, #321
Denver, CO  80203-2244
PH: (303) 866-4656
FAX: (303) 866-3072
Email: rick.hanger@state.co.us

FLORIDA
Ila Jones, Manager
Codes and Standards
2555 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2100
PH: (850) 922-6091
FAX: (850) 414-8436
Email: Ila.Jones@dca.state.fl.us

 
GEORGIA
Theodore Miltiades, Director
Industrialized Buildings
Department of Community Affairs
60 Executive Park South, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30329-2231
PH: (404) 679-3118
FAX: (404) 656-0646
Email: dca-ib@dca.ga.gov

IDAHO
Mike Davis, Inspector, Advisor and SAA/IPIA Coordinator
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian, ID  83642
PH: (208) 332-8986
FAX: (208) 855-2164
Email: mike.davis@dbs.idaho.gov

ILLINOIS
Justin DeWitt, P.E., LEED AP
Chief of General Engineering
Division of Environmental Health
Illinois Department of Public Health
525 West Jefferson Street
Springfield, IL 62761
PH: (217) 782-5830
FAX: (217) 785-5897
Email: justin.dewitt@illinois.gov

Designee: John D. Reilly, Jr., P.E., SAA Administrator
PH: (217) 785-3043
FAX: (217) 785-0253
Email: john.d.reilly@illinois.gov

INDIANA
Jeff Short
Acting Section Chief
Code Enforcement
Division of Fire and Building Safety
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
Office of the State Fire Marshal
302 West Washington Street, Room W246
Indianapolis, IN  46204
PH: 317-232-1407
FAX: 317-233-0307
E-mail: jshort@dhs.in.gov 

IOWA
Rich Bolten
State Fire Marshal Division
215 E. 7th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0047
PH: (515) 725-6157
FAX: (515) 725-6140
Email: bolten@dps.state.ia.us

KENTUCKY
Duane S. Curry, Director
Building Codes Enforcement
Department of Housing, Building, and Construction
Manufactured Housing Division
101 Sea Hero Rd, Suite 100
Frankfort, KY 40601
PH: (502) 573-0373
FAX: (502) 573-1059
Email: duane.curry@ky.gov

MARYLAND
Norman Wang, Architect
Manager, Design Standards and Review
Industrialized Building and Manufactured Homes Program
Maryland Building Performance Standards Program
7800 Harkins Road
Lanham, MD 20706
PH: (301) 429-7666
Email:norman.wang1@maryland.gov

MICHIGAN
Keith Lambert, Acting Bureau Director
Bureau of Construction Codes
P. O. Box 30254
Lansing MI 48909
PH: (517) 241-9375
FAX: (517) 241-9570
Email: lambertk@michigan.gov

MINNESOTA
Randy Vogt, Supervisor
Construction Codes and Licensing Division
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155-4198
PH: (651) 284-5875
FAX: (651) 284-5749
Email: randy.vogt@state.mn.us

MONTANA
David Cook, Bureau Chief
Building Codes Bureau
Department of Labor and Industry
State of Montana
301 South Park Avenue
Helena, MT 59620
PH: 406-841-2053
FAX: 406-841-2050
Email: dcook@mt.gov

NEBRASKA
Mark Luttich, Director
Housing and Recreational Vehicle Department
Nebraska Public Service Commission
1200 "N" Street, 300 The Atrium
Lincoln, NE 68508

Mailing Address
P. O. Box 94927
Lincoln, NE 68509-4927

PH: (402) 471-0518
FAX: (402) 471-7709
E-mail: mark.luttich@nebraska.gov

NEVADA
Stephen G. Aichroth, Administrator
Department of Business and Industry
State of Nevada
Manufactured Housing Division
1830 East College Parkway, Suite 120
Carson City, NV  89706
PH: 775-684-2950
FAX: 775-684-2949
Email: steve.aichroth@mhd.state.nv.us

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Matthew Labonte
Supervisor - Bureau of Building Safety and Construction
New Hampshire State Fire Marshal's Office
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
PH: (603) 223-4289
FAX: (603) 223-4294
Email: matthew.labonte@dos.nh.gov

NEW JERSEY
Michael Baier, Chief
Bureau of Code Services
Division of Codes & Standards
Department of Community Affairs
101 South Broad Street
P.O. Box 816
Trenton, NJ 08625-0816
PH: (609) 984-7974
FAX: (609) 984-7084
Email: mbaier@dca.state.nj.us

NEW MEXICO
Martin Romero, CBO, General Construction Bureau Chief
Regulation and Licensing Department
Construction Industries Division
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM  87505
PH: 505-795-1640
FAX: 505-476-4672
Email: Martin.Romero@state.nm.us

NEW YORK
Brian Scot Tollisen, P.E.
Assistant Director for Regional Services
Building Standards and Codes Division
NYS Department of State
One Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, Suite 1160
Albany, NY 12231-0001
PH: (518) 486-5096
FAX: (518) 486-4487
Email: brian.tollisen@dos.state.ny.us

NORTH CAROLINA
Alan D. Greene, P.E.
Chief Building Code Consultant
Manufactured Building Division
Office of the State Fire Marshal
North Carolina Department of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
PH: (919) 661-5880 ext 250
FAX: (919) 662-4405
Email: alan.greene@ncdoi.gov

OREGON
Shane Sumption, Manager, Field Services Section
Department of Consumer & Business Services
Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater Street NW
Salem, OR 97309

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 14470
Salem, OR 97309

PH: (503) 378-2015
FAX: (503) 378-4101
Email: shane.r.sumption@state.or.us

PENNSYLVANIA
Michael Moglia, Manufactured Housing Program Administrator
Factory Housing and Building Standards
PA Department of Community and Economic Development
Commonwealth Keystone Building
400 North Street, 4th Floor
Harrisburg, PA  17120-0225
Phone: 717-720-7416
Fax: 717-787-6939
Email:  mmoglia@pa.gov

RHODE ISLAND
John Leyden, Building Commissioner
State of Rhode Island Building Code Commission
560 Jefferson Blvd.
Warwick, RI  02866
PH: 401-889-5484
FAX: 401-889-5535
Email:  john.leyden@doa.ri.gov 

SOUTH CAROLINA
Douglas Green, Modular Building Program
South Carolina Department of Labor,
Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
PH: (803) 896-4688
FAX: (803) 896-4614
Email: GREEND@llr.sc.gov

TENNESSEE
Charles M. Chambers, Director
Department of Commerce and Insurance
Fire Prevention-TN State Fire Marshal's Office
Manufactured Housing and Modular Building Section
Davy Crockett Tower, 10th Floor
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0565
PH: (615) 741-7192
FAX: (615) 741-9388
Email: Charles.chambers@tn.gov

TEXAS
Donna Lipke, Program Manager
Industrialized Housing and Buildings Program
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711
PH: (512) 539-5730
FAX: (512) 539-5736
Email: ihbtech@tdlr.texas.gov

VIRGINIA
Cindy Davis, Deputy Director
Division of Building and Fire Regulation
VA Department of Housing and Community Development
Main Street Centre
600 East Main Street, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23219
PH: (804) 371-7150
FAX: (804) 371-7092
Email: cindy.davis@dhcd.virginia.gov

WASHINGTON
John Harvey, Plan Review Supervisor
State of Washington
Department of Labor and Industries
Specialty Compliance Services Division
Factory Assembled Structures Section
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA 98501-4430

Mailing Address
P. O. Box 44430
Olympia, WA 98504-4430

PH: (360) 902-5218
FAX: (360) 902-5229
Email: hajo235@lni.wa.gov

WISCONSIN
Jack Wotruba, HUD/UDC Consultant
WI Department of Safety and Professional Services
2331 San Luis Place
Green Bay, WI  54304
PH: 920-360-0020
Email: jack.wotruba@wisconsin.gov