HUD Logo
USA%20Flag  
Site Map         A-Z Index         Text   A   A   A
HUD   >   Program Offices   >   Housing   >   RMRA   >   MHS   >   HUD Manufactured Housing - State Administrative Agencies
How and Where to File a Complaint
Manufactured Housing and Standards: State Administrative Agencies (SAAs)

All residential manufactured (mobile) homes must comply with the Federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards. Since June 15, 1976, manufacturers have confirmed compliance with the Standards by attaching a red certification label to the back of each transportable section of a home produced.

The extent to which HUD can help a homeowner resolve a complaint depends on the seriousness of the problem. In cases where safety-related defects in homes create an unreasonable risk of injury or death to the occupants, manufacturers must correct the defect in a short period. HUD cannot require correction unless the defects were introduced into the home during the manufacturing process. For issues related to the on-site installation of a manufactured home, HUD’s Manufactured Home Installation Program ensures that participating states have a minimum installation standard and functioning installation program.

If a problem arises with a manufactured home, the first contact should be with the retailer. Most problems can be eliminated quickly. If the retailer cannot help, the second contact should be with the manufacturer. Manufacturers, for the most part, are quick to respond to consumers.

It is important to put a complaint in writing. Also, make a copy to keep with your records. The letter should include the serial number of the home with a list of the problems. List any known factors that contributed to the problem. Also list any secondary issues related to the problem.

If the retailer and the manufacturer do not resolve your concerns, there are offices within most state governments with staff that are knowledgeable about manufactured housing construction and related issues. There are 36 States participating with HUD in a State and Federal partnership to regulate and enforce the Federal manufactured housing program in their state. Many state governments regulate all, or part, of the manufactured housing industry in the state. Some areas that may be regulated in your state are retailers, transporters and installers.

To find the contact for your state, use the table below and click on your state's abbreviation.

 

 

AL

 

AK

 

AZ

 

AR

 

CA

 

CO

 

CT

 

DE

 

DC

 

FL

 

GA

 

HI

 

ID

 

IL

 

IN

 

IA

 

KS

 

KY

 

LA

 

ME

 

MD

 

MA

 

MI

 

MN

 

MO

 

MS

 

MT

 

NE

 

NV

 

NH

 

NJ

 

NM

 

NY

 

NC

 

ND

 

OH

 

OK

 

OR

 

PA

 

RI

 

SC

 

SD

 

TN

 

TX

 

UT

 

VT

 

VA

 

WA

 

WV

 

WI

 

WY

 

--- 

 If your state does not participate in the Federal program, or if you cannot get a resolution through these contacts, you may contact the:

Office of Manufactured Housing Programs
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
451 Seventh Street, SW, Room 9170
Washington, DC 20410-8000
Telephone: (202) 708-6423 or (800) 927-2891

FAX: (202) 708-4213

ALABAMA
Elwyn Thomas, Administrator
Alabama Manufactured Housing Commission
350 South Decatur Street
Montgomery, AL 36104-4306
PH: (334) 242-4036 ext. 25
FAX: (334) 240-3178
Email: elwyn.thomas@amhc.alabama.gov


Designee: Tommy Colley, Program Manager
PH: (334) 242-4036 ext. 22
Email: tommy.colley@amhc.alabama.gov

ARIZONA
Debra Blake, Assistant Deputy Director
Arizona Department of Fire, Building, and Life Safety
Office of Manufactured Housing
1110 West Washington, Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2957
PH: (602) 364-1003
FAX: (602) 364-1052
Email: debra.blake@azhousing.gov


ARKANSAS
Aaron Howard, ASQ CQA
Inspector Supervisor

Arkansas Manufactured Home Commission
101 E. Capitol Avenue, Suite 210
Little Rock, AR 72201
PH:(501) 324-9032
FAX: (501) 683-3638
Email: aaron.howard@arkansas.gov

CALIFORNIA
John J. Westfall, District Representative II
Department of Housing and Community Development
Manufactured and Factory-built Housing Program
2020 W. El Camino Avenue, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95833
Email: john.westfall@hcd.ca.gov


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 31

Sacramento, CA 95812-0031
PH: (916) 445-3338
FAX: (916) 263-4713

Designee: Mitchel Baker, District Representative II
Email: mitchel.baker@hcd.ca.gov

COLORADO
Rick Hanger, Manager
Housing Technology and Standards Section

Department of Local Affairs, Division of Housing
1313 Sherman Street, #321
Denver, CO 80203-2244
PH: (303) 864-7833
FAX: (303) 864-7857
Email: rick.hanger@state.co.us

Complaints: Beverly Bayley
PH: (303) 864-7836
Email: beverly.bayley@state.co.us


FLORIDA
James McGowan, Field Services Manager

State of Florida
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Division of Motorist Services
Manufactured Housing Section
5701 East Hillsborough Avenue, Suite 2228
Tampa, FL  33610
PH: 813-612-7150
FAX: 813-612-7131
Email: jamesmcgowan@flhsmv.gov


Complaints: Vickie Ladd
PH: (813) 612-7116
Email: VickieLadd@flhsmv.gov


GEORGIA
Chris Stephens, Assistant State Fire Marshal
Manufactured Housing Division
State Fire Marshal's Office
#2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, #620 West Tower
Atlanta, GA 30334

PH: (404) 656-3687
FAX: (404) 657-6971
Email: cstephens@sfm.ga.gov

IDAHO
Mike Davis, Inspector/Advisor, Idaho SAA/IPIA Coordinator
State of Idaho
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian, ID  83642
PH: 208-332-8986
FAX: 208-855-2164
Email: mike.davis@dbs.idaho.gov

ILLINOIS
Justin DeWitt, P.E. LEED AP
Chief of General Engineering
Division of Environmental Health
Illinois Department of Public Health
525 West Jefferson Street
Springfield, IL 62761
PH: (217) 782-5830
FAX: (217) 785-5897
Email: justin.dewitt@illinois.gov

Designee:
John D. Reilly, Jr., P.E., SAA Administrator

PH: (217) 785-3043
FAX: (217) 785-0253
Email: john.d.reilly@illinois.gov


IOWA
Rich Bolten, Manufactured Housing Coordinator
State Fire Marshal Division
215 E. 7th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0047
PH: (515) 725-6157
FAX: (515) 725-6140
Email: bolten@dps.state.ia.us

KENTUCKY
Duane S. Curry, Director Technical Advisor Manager
Department of Housing, Building, and Construction
Manufactured Housing Division
101 Sea Hero Road, Suite 100
Frankfort, KY  40601
PH: 502-573-0373
FAX: 502-573-1059
Email: duane.curry@ky.gov


LOUISIANA
H. Butch Browning, SAA Director/Administrator
State Fire Marshals Office
Manufactured Housing Division
8181 Independence Blvd.

Baton Rouge, LA 70809
PH: (225) 925-4911 or 1 (800) 256-5452

FAX: (225) 925-3813
Email: butch.browning@dps.la.gov

MAINE
Robert LeClair, Executive Director
Maine Manufactured Housing
Department of Professional and Financial Regulations
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0035
PH: (207) 624-8612
FAX: (207) 624-8637
Email: robert.v.leclair@maine.gov

MARYLAND
Norman C. Wang, RA, Director
Department of Housing and Community Development
7800 Harkins Road
Room 103
Lanham, MD  20706
PH: 301-429-7666
Email: norman.wang1@maryland.gov

Designee: Charles Cook

PH: (301) 429-7217
Email: charles.cook@maryland.gov


MINNESOTA
Scott McLellan, Director
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, MN 55155-4341
PH: (651) 284-5869
FAX: (651) 284-5749
Email: scott.mclellan@state.mn.us

Designee: Randy Vogt

PH: (651) 284-5875
Email: randy.vogt@state.mn.us

MISSISSIPPI
Ricky Davis, Fire Marshal, State Chief Deputy
Manufactured Housing Division

State Fire Marshal's Office
Woolfolk State Office Building
660 North Street, Suite 100B
Jackson, MS 39202
Email: firemarshal@mid.state.ms.us

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205

PH: (601) 359-1061
FAX: (601) 359-1076


Designee: Timothy Fagerburg
PH: (601) 359-1071
Email: timothy.fagerburg@mid.ms.gov


MISSOURI
Justin Smith, Program Manager

Missouri Public Service Commision
Manufactured Housing and Modular Units Programs
200 Madison Street, Suite 500
P.O. Box 360
Jefferson City, MO 65102-3254
PH: (800) 819-3180
FAX: (573) 522-2509
Email: justin.smith@psc.mo.gov

Designee: David Freeman
Mannufactured Housing Program Manager
PH (800) 819-819-3180
FAX: (573) 522-2509
Email: jdavid.freeman@psc.mo.gov

NEBRASKA
Mark Luttich, Director
Housing and Recreational Vehicle Department
Nebraska Public Service Commission
1200 "N" Street, 300 The Atrium
Lincoln, NE 68508
Email: mark.luttich@nebraska.gov

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 94927
Lincoln, NE 68509-4927
PH: (402) 471-0518
FAX: (402) 471-7709

NEVADA
Stephen G. Aichroth, Administrator
Department of Business and Industry
Manufactured Housing Division
1830 College Parkway, Suite 120
Carson City, NV 89706
PH: (775) 684-2950
FAX: (775) 684-2949
Email: steve.aichroth@mhd.state.nv.us


NEW JERSEY
Michael Baier, Chief

Bureau of Code Services
Division of Codes and Standards
Department of Community Affairs
101 South Broad Street
P.O. Box 816
Trenton, NJ 08625-0816
PH: (609) 984-7974
FAX: (609) 292-7084
Email: mbaier@dca.state.nj.us

NEW MEXICO
Jesus O. Carrasco, Field Operations Manager
Regulation and Licensing Department
Construction Industries Division and 

Manufactured Housing Division
505 S. Main Street, Suite 118
Las Cruces, NM 88004
Email: jesus.carrasco@state.nm.us

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 939
Las Cruces, NM 88004
PH: (505) 490-2998
FAX: (575) 524-6319

NEW YORK 
Brian Scot Tollisen, PE
Assistant Director for Regional Services
Building Standards and Code Division
NYS Department of State
One Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, Suite 1160
Albany, NY 12231-0001
PH: (518) 474
-4073
FAX: (518) 486-4487
Email: brian.tollisen@dos.ny.us


NORTH CAROLINA
Joseph H. Sadler, Jr., P.E., Deputy Director
Manufactured Building Division

Office of the State Fire Marshal

NC Department of Insurance
325 N. Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC  27603-1388
Email: joe.sadler@ncdoi.gov

Mailing Address:
1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
PH: (919) 661-5880 ext 215
FAX: (919) 662-4405


Designee: C. Patrick Walker, PE, Technical Service Manager
PH: (919) 661-5880 ext 220
FAX:  (919) 662-4405
Email: pat.walker@ncdoi.gov

NORTH DAKOTA
Bonnie Malo, Director
North Dakota Department of Commerce
Division of Community Services
1600 East Century Avenue, Suite 2
P.O. Box 2057
Bismark, ND 58502-2057
PH: (701) 328-5300
FAX: (701) 328-5320
Email: bmalo@nd.gov

Designee: Rory J. Hoffmann

North Dakota Department of Commerce
Division Of Community Services
106 6th Avenue NE, Suite B1
Medina, ND 58467-7205

PH: (701) 486-3330
FAX: (701) 486-3329
Email: rjhoffmann@nd.gov

OREGON

Mark S. Long, Administrator
Department of Consumer and Business Services
Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater Street, NW
Salem, OR 97304-4635
PH: (503) 378-4133
FAX: (503) 378-2322
Email: mark.long@state.or.us

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 14470
Salem, OR 97309-0404


Designee: Shane Sumption
Manager Field Services Section
PH: (503) 378-2015
FAX: (503) 378-4101
Email: shane.r.sumption@state.or.us

Mark Campion, 
SAA Coordinator
Building Codes Division

PH: (503) 373-7559
Email: mark.campion@state.or.us


PENNSYLVANIA
Michael Moglia, Manufactured Housing Program Administrator
Factory Housing and Building Standards 
PA Department of Community and Economic Development
Commonwealth Keystone Building
400 North Street, 4th Floor

Harrisburg, PA 17120-0225
PH: (717) 720-7416
FAX: (717) 783-4663

Email:  mmoglia@pa.gov

RHODE ISLAND
John Leyden, Building Commissioner
State Building Code Commission
560 Jefferson Blvd.
Warwick, RI  02866

PH: 401-889-5484
FAX: 401-889-5535
Email:  john.leyden@doa.ri.gov

Designee: Alfred Cocce
PH: 401-889-5485
Email:  alfred.cocce@doa.ri.gov 

SOUTH CAROLINA
Roger K. Lowe, MCP CBO, Administrator
South Carolina Building Codes Council 
SC Contractors' Licensing Board
SC Manufactured Housing Board
South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation

110 Centerview Drive
Columbia, SC 29211
PH: (803) 896-4682
FAX: (803) 896-4814
Email: roger.lowe@llr.sc.gov

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329

SOUTH DAKOTA
Paul Merriman
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
Office of State Fire Marshal
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-2000
PH: (605) 773-3562
FAX: (605) 773-6631
Email: paul.merriman@state.sd.us

TENNESSEE
Charles M. Chambers, Director
Manufactured Housing Section
Tennessee State Fire Marshal's Office
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Division of Fire Prevention
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
PH: (615) 253-5317
FAX: (615) 741-9388
Email: charles.chambers@tn.gov

Designee: Stephen Hibner, IPIA/SAA Manager 
PH: (615) 253-7696
Email: steve.hibner@tn.gov

TEXAS
Joe Garcia, Executive Director
Manufactured Housing Division
TX Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Twin Towers Office Center

1106 Clayton Lane, Suite 270W
Austin, TX 78723
Email: joe.garcia@tdhca.state.tx.us

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 12489
Austin, TX 78711-2489

PH: (512) 475-4999 or (800) 500-7074
FAX: (512) 475-0495

Designee: Cindy 
Bocz, Administrator
PH: (512) 475-2884
FAX: (512) 463-7951
Email: cindy.bocz@tdhca.state.tx.us

UTAH
Chris Rogers, Bureau Manager
State of Utah
Div. of Occupational and Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 146741
160 E. 300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84111-6741
PH: (801) 530-6720
FAX: (801) 530-6511
Email crogers@utah.gov

Alternate: Sharon Smalley, Board Secretary
PH:  (801) 530-6163
Email: ssmalley@utah.gov

VIRGINIA
Cindy Davis, State Building Codes Director 
Division of Building and Fire Regulation
VA Department of Housing and Community Development
Main Street Centre
600 East Main Street, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23219
PH: (804) 371-7150
FAX: (804) 371-7092
Email: cindy.davis@dhcd.virginia.gov

Designee: Lorenzo Dyer

PH: (804) 371-7163
Email: lorenzo.dyer@dhcd.virginia.gov


WASHINGTON
Dean Simpson, FAS and Compliance Chief
Factory Assembled Structures
Department of Labor and Industries
Installer/SAA Program
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA 98501-5414
Email: simu235@lni.wa.gov

Mailing Address:
SAA/Installer
P.O. Box 44420
Olympia, WA 98504-4220


Factory Assembled Structures
P.O. Box 44430
Olympia, WA 98504-4220
PH: (360) 902-5225 or (800) 647-0982, option 5 and 6
FAX: (360) 902-5229

Designee: John McMillian, SAA/Installer Certification
Email: mcmj235@lni.wa.gov


WEST VIRGINIA
Mitch Woodrum, Deputy Commissioner
West Virginia Division of Labor
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
State Capitol Complex
Building 3, Room 200
Charleston, WV  25305
PH: 304-558-7890
FAX: 304-558-2447
Email: mitch.e.woodrum@wv.gov 


WISCONSIN
Amy Millard, Director
Division of Industry Services
Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

1400 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703
PH: (608) 266-1816
FAX: (608) 267-9723

Email: amy.millard@wisconsin.gov